#inspired me

allthingssundry? What does it signify? – my husband asked. I thought for a while and tried to tell him why I had chosen this as my blog title. I had wanted to pen things down for as long as I can remember. While in school I had tried (very unsuccessfully) in maintaining a diary – I will admit that for some time I was quite excited at the prospect of capturing every little random detail of the day and make it for an interesting anecdote on paper. Very soon I started making fictional grand plans on how I would accumulate diaries every year and read it one fine rainy day cosied up in the corner of my bed with a smile on my face. So I thought ! It’s just that the whole “Dear Diary, I went to school today….and.. Dear Diary, I fought with my best friend today…” got old at one point – in fact these efforts lasted for exactly…3 days! So much for my grandiose plans of publishing my diaries when I got old and treating myself to big, fat royalty cheques ! Oh well..

The extent of my writing since then got limited to letters that I would exchange with my dad when he was away working in a distant location or some with my sister during her brief stay in a hostel. She told me later that these letters made for an interesting read whenever she was bored. With the advent of the dot-com world & the popularity of owning email id’s i found that I too was one of the many who wanted their names prefixed to “@hotmail.com” ! With this letter writing too dwindled away and so did my need to express my thoughts into words. I’d considered blogging but for some vague reason I didn’t act on it. Until recently when I came across this quote :

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

~ Mark Twain

And how wise are these words? The quote stirred something deep within and suddenly I wanted to embrace all and sundry that I’d just been “putting off” : blogging, photography, WRITING – something…anything, sharing my experiences on my experiments with cooking and fashion and so on… And this is how my blog came into being and lo, what better to name it than just that – all things sundry ! There, now you know it ! 🙂

Hope this post (and the quote in it) inspires you as well to embrace all the things you have been evading!

Speaking of things that inspire, here’s a snap of an evening sun @ my office rooftop that got me thinking…

#mademethink

Leave a Reply

